I’ve long wanted to do Under the Hoodie found in Stitch ‘n Bitch, but never could quite afford all the yarn it called for.  Plus, being a relatively newbie knitter, especially to clothes, the pattern looked  a wee bit too daunting for me.  Luckily, I found super discounted yarn at The Black Sheep.  £1.99 a ball for Angora/Merino? Yes please! So I bought a bunch of that and then got a nifty pattern book for DK weights,the Sirdar Simple Easy Knits #331.  I figured since this book was like a Choose Your Own Adventure knit guide, I could also make several other things in it and justify having to buy a pattern book.

Anyway, I cast on April 4th. By May 14 (I think I would have gotten it finished in a month if I hadn’t spent 10 days drinking after work because of the hellish time there) it was DONE!   As I was sewing up the sleeve, I noticed that one sleeve was 2 two inches too short on the raglan side…naturally something had to not match up properly.  So I had to frog that and invent a way to lenghten it.  But I am SUPER happy with it. It’s  cloud soft and very fuzzy, so at times I do feel like a bit of a muppet.  Plus the hood makes you look TOTALLY GIMP.  I really liked the hood in the Stitch ‘n Bitch book, but oh well. I like the look of it OFF, so I’m hoping I’ll never have to pull it on.

Cest moi. I think those light spots much be the ghosts that haunt this old Edinburgh flat.

C'est moi. I think those light spots much be the ghosts that haunt this old Edinburgh flat.

Total gimp! Yeah, not really going to be using this for the hood. No wonder no one was wearing the hood in any of the pattern pictures.

Total gimp! Yeah, not really going to be using this for the hood. No wonder no one was wearing the hood in any of the pattern pictures.

YAYS! First garment DONE, and now on to MORE!  I want to use the knit picks yarn my mom sent me to do a halter shirt and the February Lady cardigan.  I also have to get Secret Project done by June (half way there) and I also want to use my lace weight to knit the lace mohair version of Wicked.  SO much to do!

