Okay, so not knitting related. At all, but I love this salad too much not to share.

Last night, My Honey and I made Vietnamese spring rolls for dinner.  These are a SUPER favourite of mine when I am back home in a land where Vietnamese restaurants exist.   Unfortunately, since they don’t exist here, I’ve been luckily enough to find the ingredients to make them myself.   The rolls themselves consist of Rice Vermicelli, cucumber, cilantro (or coriander), and lettuce, and shrimp (although sometimes I’ll throw in bean sprouts and shredded carrot too- depending on how bothered I am to buy all that stuff).  These are then all wrapped up burrito style in a rice paper foreskin and dipped in a delish peanut butter sauce.

Anyway, as per usual, I failed to guesstimate how many noodles to make and ended up with boatloads too much.  Which is fine for  me because it gives me an excuse to make my version of a Vietnamese noodle salad.

It didn’t occur to me to take a picture until after I had stared chowing down.

Salad:

Rice Noodles (there was probs about 2 or 3 cups in there)

Cucumber (either julienned or sliced)

Cilantro or Coriander, depending on which country you’re from

Lettuce

Raw shirmp

Bit o’ Butter

Thai Spices (I found a mix from Schwartz that contains salt, chili pepper, cumin, oregano, garlic, ginger, cinamon, white pepper, green pepper, and star anise)

Dressing:

Rice Vinegar (I use about a third of a cup)

Fish Sauce (I just glob some in, but probs about a tablespoon or two)

Dried red chili pepper

Garlic (I used 2-3 cloves depending on how much I want my breath to stink)

Cook the noodles and drain (or use cold left over ones). Then shred the lettuce, cilantro, cucumber (you can also throw in shreded carrots and bean sprouts too). Mix it up with the noodles.  Pan fry the shrimp in the butter with a good sprinkling of Thai spices. Throw in the noodle mix.  Mix all the dressing ingredients in a seperate container (I use a coffee cup), then dump on. Toss the salad and dig in.  SO lovely!

