I decided to forgo the gym today in lieu of a little DIY.  I felt it was time for me to have a blocking board, especially since I’m about 4 inches away from finishing my lace weight, and I only foresee more sweater-like wear falling off my needles in the next year or so.

I’d done some reading on how to make your own blocking board, but this being the UK and lacking a lot of things I would expect to find at my friendly US Home Depot, I didn’t expect much, and set off to my local Home Base hoping to be inspired.

Home Base is 1.3 miles from my flat and I shuffled off praying it would stay dry en route.  As expected, the picking were slim and expensive.  In the end, I managed to find some foam ceiling tiles for £8, a piece of wall siding for £8 and some heavy duty all purpose glue.  Half way there!

Along the way home, I figured I might as well stop by the Edinburgh Fabric store for the batting and fabric I would use to cover the thing.

I quickly found the fabric I wanted, a nice cotton gingham, and then went up to ask for the batting.

‘You want what?’

‘Um, batting? You know, like, squishy stuff you put in between layers of fabric?Um..’

‘Wadding?’

‘What?’

‘Interfacing?’

‘Yeah, you see, I’m making a blocking board and just need something to rest between the fabric and board.’

‘Blocking what? What’s what?’

‘Errr, ehm…for knitting…?’

‘You come and see what I have.’

So the guy led me to the back and showed me different types of batting. I picked out the fluffiest and handed it to me.

‘That’s called wadding.’ Oh, well pardon me… (This then caused me to contemplate during the walk home with wall panelling and fabric balanced under my arms if I had in fact gone crazy.  I could have sworn that it was called batting, unless my eyes misheard and read backing and translating it in my head to batting. It wasn’t until I got home and googled it that I figured out it was the same thing, only British.  Like lift and elevator and trunk and boot.)

Finally, having procured the fabric and batting, I asked if they had pins.

‘Pins?’

‘Yeah, like..T-Pins, non-rusting pins?’

‘T-pins?’

‘Yeah,’ I said, making a T shape with my two pointer fingers, ‘pins to stick in fabric?’

‘Umm, try bargain store next door.’

Whatever.  I took my goodies, carefully managed to not twack anyone on my way out the door with my side panelling swinging 2 feet behind me, and headed home.

My supplies

My supplies

First I glued the foam ceiling tiles to my board.  After about 10 minutes I noticed that the adhesive was actually MELTING my boards. Oops.

Making sure it sticks flat

Making sure it sticks flat

Tile erroding adhesive

Tile eroding adhesive

Because I LOATHE anything to do with sewing and was too skint to afford a stapler gun (note- a stapler gun would have been amazing. In fact, anything stronger than my .99 cent mini stapler would have been a major improvement), I went glue/tape all the way.  Unfort, I have yet to find a hot glue gun/anyone who knows what that is in the UK, so I had to make do with all purpose super strenght tile crosive adhesive, liquid sew, and left over parcel tape.

Ghetto, but effective

Ghetto, but effective

After I had my layer of foam tiles and a double layer of batting, it was time to put on the cotton cover. Which I faux sewed with Liquid Sew.  And it came out pretty well.

heres to hoping

here's to hoping

At least I hope it turned out well. I guess I’ll know when it actually comes time to use the bloody thing. But over all, it cost me £30 to slap it together, and hopefully it will  last me a loooooooooooooooong time.  Only a few more inches now and I can put it through its first test!

