I’ve been majorly neglecting the knit blog for a while, as I am majorly reminded of everytime I see all those white numbers inbetween red ones on the right side of my blog’s calendar.  But I came down with a severe case of knitting ADD again, an even though I have birthdays coming up in addition to getting my x-mas knitting sorted, I still managed to convince myself that I was due some new me projects.

After finishing the Back to School vest, I still have 4 skeins of the redwood colour left plus all that blerg Salmon colour.   Now, apparently my mom was a bit put off when I told her my plans for the yarn and how I wasn’t too keen on the Salmon.  She accusingly asked me why I only boringly knit with one colour and that she purposely got those yarns for me (apart from them being on sale) because she visualised them working well together. I retored back that I an not skilled enough for fair isle knitting, leaving my only other option stripes.  And as any fashionista can tell you, horizontal stripes on a routund or curvy body is a big no-no; unless you want to purposely add 15 lbs to your tummy.

However, I’ve been vying to try the Two Toned ribbed shrug also found in my wonderful Fitted Knits.  And in less than a week, I was rocking this (and please excuse the headlights- who knew what the joys a flash pic could do when wearing the wrong bra?):

And I LOVE IT!  I’m even digging the retro colouring.  But unlike other shurgs I’ve found, this one does a great job of looking somewhat classy, due to the ribbed collar that flares out ever so subtly.  It also flares out around the girls, giving the illusion that you have a nice, slender, elegant neck and an ample bosom. Giggidy.

And thus, with one quickly project out of my system, I should have buckled down and focused on my birthday/x-mas lists, right?

Except that for the past 7 months I’ve been having visions of Owls by Kate Davies running around in my head.  I’ve even slowly (so so slowly ) been spending £6.25 a skein on nice, Rowan Chunky wool specifically for this project.   But I couldn’t bring myself to jump into a project such as Owls with expensive wool without having tested it out in a much crappier wool.

Solution?  Sacrifice an old finished project for a greater cause.

The hobbit cloke thing was the very very first think I ever knit what wasn’t a scarf.  But would I ever wear it? No.  And thus, it gave itself to 5 big balls of yarn.  I would just like to take a moment there to PRAISE Katie over at the Endless Cast-on for helping me so so much on figuring out this behemoth.   I managed fine until the increases because everyone on the Owls Ravelry group had pre-emptively scared me about the back poofing out.  After having my poofy back fears squelched, I went on and did two back increase and then moved the rest to the front.  And tried it on. And found it MASSIVE.  Well, not massive, but with quite a bit of give which I knew would only get exaggerated once the cables started happening.  So I ripped out get two increases in the back and two in the front.  And then realised that I had 4 more stitched for the XS and 4 few from being the S which I had started with.  And here’s the thing- I am NOT in any universe a small.  So a quick gauge check found that I was getting more like 3st an inch because this damn hobbit yarn is Megga Chunky.  So it’s hard as bull balls to knit with, and, until 6 inches ago, stiff enough to stand on it’s own.    So that is what is accounting for my switch to an xs, but also meant I had to magically make 4 sts go away.  Which I did on the sides.  Now I only have the arms to do before working on the cabling.

And lastly, this is just a rant because I got quite hacked off this afternoon looking for yeast.  You see, I’ve had this craving for pizza lately.  But homemade pizza- with olives and artichokes.  I have been dreaming of artichokes, and figured it was nigh time I do something about it.  I figured I could mix up the pizza dough and then pop out to the shops to get the toppings while it raised in a warm oven.  But it being my life, I was one tablespoon short of yeast.  No biggie, I’ll go to the BIG Scotmid that has everything under the sun for everything.  Negative.  The largest supermarket in the area didn’t have anything but olives and cheese.  Long story short, I had to go to 4 different bloody shops before finding one that sold yeast.  Dear Britain: almost 50% of all thing requiring flour also require yeast.  Maybe you should think about stocking some!

I also invented a sauce base for the pizza that was so damn good I ended up spreading it on toast to eat while the dough raised.

Half jar of artichoke hearts

Two big spoon fulls of mayo

Big ol’ spoonful of left over pesto I found

dollop of garlic olive oil ( couple weeks ago I crushed some garlic and added it to the olive oil jar)

Blend with blender or hand blender

OMFG! Absolute heaven.  I think I’m gonna have more toast with it on because I can’ t wait to eat it on a pizza.  Orgastically delicious!

