Every now and then, a project comes along that ignites the dive in you to do more, create more, try more, and see what happens.  The first time this happened to me was when I finally learned to knit in the round.  The whole point of me learning to knit (at the time) was so that I could make alpaca mittens.   That’s all I wanted to do.  But things such as dpns scared me, and so I investigated flat mits for a while before just going for it and casting on dpns. 

After learning how to knit in the round, I was hooked.  I only made one pair of simple mits (which I ended up giving away as a present), but became hooked on making hats.  Hats, hats, more hats, cabled hats, lacy hats, beanie hats, I couldn’t stop. 

Then there were the felted slippers. I made those on a whim, but there’s something about felting that I found very addictive.  So for the past week, that’s all that’s been on my mind.  I want to make more felted things.  But what? 

Then I read Jane’s blog and saw all the wonderfully cute cloche hats at Anthropologie and got an idea.  So today I trudged down in the soaking, bone drenching rain to John Lewis and tried on their felted cloches (£75!)  too see if I could pull off the look.  And I must say, pretty cute! So my new goal is something like this:

The problem is that I haven’t found any patterns on Ravelry that jump out except for one that costs $7.50 and I don’t want to spend that.  So my new goal is to piece together the bits I like from the other free hat patterns and see what happens.   Watch this space.

