Whew, the Christmas holiday is over and me and my Darling Honey are back in the wet, miserable English suburbs. We had an absolutely LOVELY Scottish Christmas, and now that I’m back, I have loads of updates.
1) I finished the Coffee Princess (Ysolda’s Snow White) while on holiday. I know, I really really really wanted to get it done before we left, but I just ran out of time. But a half hour on Boxing day meant that this baby was FINISHED! The only issues I had were that I should have added an inch or two between the decreases/increases so that I wouldn’t have to have added length to the top, and that I really really really need to join better.  I Russian joined my ends together and they kinda left a telltale line where the join happened.  But not enough to bother me.  Outta sight, outta mind.

2) I finally got the chance to cash in my gift vouchers for K1.  I had them in my purse since I left the NLS and really wanted to exchange them for £20 worth of New Lanark, aka enough to make the Central Park Hoodie or the Arwen or another Owls.  So imagine my angst and annoyance to discover that k1 no longer sells that wonderful £3 for 188yds of Aran goodness.  Thank god I can at least order it online.  So there went my hopes of being able to make a jumper.  And without a game plan pre-set, I panicked and didn’t know what to do.  Do I splurge it all on Fyberspates sock yarn to make a lacy shawl? No, don’t like any of the colours left.  Do I splurge it on Magnas Orkney Angora? No, they don’t have the colour of my other ball left and I don’t know what to do with 2 balls of that.  Had I been properly thinking, I would have bought 4 skeins of my favourite Artesano Aran and made a Leisl, but proper thinking was absent that day.  So with my Darling Honey anxiously pacing around outside in the icy Edinburgh cold, I rushed and bought 4 balls of Artesano Inca Mist.  Luckily, I have always always wanted to make Ysolda’s Scroll Scarf, so that what they’re going towards. And with the leftovers….I ‘ll probs get another lacy hat out of them…maybe another Meret.

3) I was SUUUUUUUUUUUUPER lucky to have a wonderful mom who spend a small fortune on me this Christmas buying and shipping me more precious yarn.  I got my order of Knitpicks Wool of the Andes Chunky that I’d bought back in November and then my Kissmas Pressis….MORE WONDERFUL YARN!  My mom went posh on me this year and sent me 8 skeins of Plymouth Pacca Tweed, an aran weight tweedy half alpaca half wool blend that is just luscious.  After much deliberation, I have decided to use it to make Arwen .   And I’ll use my KnitPicks to make another Owls.

4) I also got a bit of Kissmas money from The Parents, The Grandpa, and The Uncle, so while most of it is going to be squirrelled away for saving/rent/food, a wee bit shall be used for more yarn buying.  More yarn?!?! Yes.  Because even though I got loads now, I don’t have enough for all my specific projects.  Projects for the new year:
1) Arwen using my Christmas Pacca Tweed

2) Owls using my Knit Picks Chunky

3) Central Park Hoodie using my unbought New Lanark

4) Vine Yoke Cardigan using my unbought Cascade 220

I also have quite a few patterns I want to make from my Fitted Knits books including another Back to School U neck Vest that will be great in New Lanark, the Boatneck Bluebell sweater, the Textured Tunic, and the Elizabeth Bennet Cabled Cardigan, all by Stefanie Japel.

Whew!  This is not to mention all the smaller projects queued up, such as the scarf, a few shawls, and maybe a few shirts and hats to use up the stash.

Here’s to loads of knitting in the New Year!

