So, once upon a time, I went from being depressed and unemployed to being depressed and employed.  The good news with the former: it gave me time to knit.  A lot of time to knit.  And I busted out a top, a jumper, and some smaller stuff.  But now I’m working the worst job ever via a temp agency and it leaves me shattered.  Dead on my feet, not even enough strength to even lift a needle.  This means that my ‘flying off the needles’ Arwen jumper is now stagnantly attempting to limp along.

So while I’m almost done with the left side of the jumper, I’ll instead do another review.

Fitted Knits by Stephanie Japel.  I LOVE this book.  Now, I’m not one for book buying.  I don’t like to do it, simply because I don’t like spending mucho money for a book, only to use one or two patterns.  BUT, if I see a book where I’m likely to knit the majority of the patterns, then it’s a sure bet it will somehow find its way into my life.

Fitted Knits was one of those books.  After looking through the patterns on Ravelry, I quickly came to the conclusion that yes, I would like to knit basically EVERYTHING in here.

Pros:  It’s all top down, in the round knitting.  This means NO seams, the ability to try it on as you go for measurement adjustments, and all around happiness.

-They patterns are classy, functional, and fashionable. Just check out a few of my favourites:

I think that’s enough.  But seriously, out of the 25 patterns, I would seriously consider making at least 20.

-They’re fitted.  Because they’re done top down, and because Stephanie provides a great tutorial on how to customise the patterns to fit your size and gauge, you can make sure that you get what you what.

Cons:  Errata up the wazoo.  You def need to go online and print out the errata list for this book because almost every pattern is flawed in some way.  No biggie, but it keeps you vigilant.

-Variation.  Almost EVERYTHING in here is knit with Cascade 220 worsted.  Apart from the ones knit with bulky yarns.  This means that those who like to use dk or fingering weights will have to do some major gauge calculations.   Also, it seems as though several patterns would have done much better using a lighter yarn, but again, it’s not that hard to modify.

