I know, it’s so not Spring yet- as evidenced by the mini-blizzards that keep assaulting me on my way to work.

BUT, you can definitely tell that the seasons are a changing because the light is changing.  One of the biggest surprises to me about leaving the shores of Cali for the shores of Scotland was the fact that the sun only shown (when it did decided to appear) 5 hours a day.  I would wake and go to work in the dark, and come home in the dark.  Even living in England was a bit lighter.  I could go to the airport at Heathrow at 1 pm and board in the sun, only to touch down in Scotland an hour later to a vanishing light.  It tripped me out.

BUT now I’m once again coming home when it’s still light out.  This was not the case a month ago.  This makes it feel like spring is literally around the corner, and that makes me want to clear some stuff out.

Now I know that I’m still working on some small projects.  The insane cold has left me with a deep desire to have a full set of mittens/gloves.  I’ve knit mitts for almost everyone I know, but have yet to own a pair for myself.   And I’m happy to say that I managed to finish ONE glove on the bus.  Have I cast on for the second? No.  So I’ll be Michael Jacksoning it for a while.  Because  today I went through my stash and found all the odd 1, 2 and 2.5 balls of yarn I have laying around, and it got me itchy to do something with them.   I’m hoping that my new stranding skillz (yeah right) will help me dispatch of a few of them, and I know of a few pressies I have in mind for them once I do.

Have I touched my Arwen cardi in two weeks? No.  But have I started a new project? Yes.  And thus, my 4 left over balls of Knit Picks Comfy worsted is becoming the Irish Hiking Scarf.  My 4 .7 balls of Rowan Calmer is going to become a Coachella .  And my random balls of Knit Picks Elegance and Rowan Kid Classic will become a his and her set of We Call Them Pirates for one of my favourite couples.

This means that Arwen will be done in time for Autumn 2010.

