I’m not a scarf knitter.  I don’t like how long they take, how it never really changes, and how much I would rather be knitting a jumper.

BUT, for some reason, I have managed to pump out not one, but TWO scarves this month, and the harshest of winter is already behind us.

why this sudden scarf splurge?  Well, it all began when I was trying to clear out my stash a bit.  I found I had 4 balls of Knit Picks comfy worsted left over from a shirt I did.  It was back when I was just starting my knitting adventure, and I tried to ‘conserve’ yarn by making the top an inch or two shorter than cracking into a whole new ball.  Oh, how I wish I hadn’t.  Anyway, I didn’t know what to do with just over 400 yds of the stuff- too little to make a top for myself, and I didn’t want to make copious hats and mitts.  And then I remembered that the scarf I knit for my partner’s mum whilst flying back from America was the ONLY scarf she ever wore and that it was looking a bit scruffy.

Voila l’Irish Hiking Scarf :

I managed to bang this baby out in just under two weeks, with only knitting at home after work in front of the telly.

The next one out was inspired by how much I really really wanted to do this pattern.  My friend in Edinburgh has this scarf made from BFL, and I’m not ashamed to admit how envious I was of it.  So the opportunity to visit Loop in London was just the excuse I needed to find myself some equally enviable yarn to make it with.  Voici le Just Enough Ruffles scarf, made from the delicious Malabrigo:

It’s long enough to wrap twice around my neck and soft as a baby cloud.  I love it.  It took me 3 days and left me with enough yarn over to make a pair of matching fetching mits.

AND, because I just fell in love with the Malabrigo so much, I might have went online and spontaneously bought another skein to make a 198yds shawlette.

What? DON’T JUDGE ME!

I sense a new era of shawl knitting on the horizon…..

