I’m at the point right now when I feel I MUST have something to knit at all times while watching TV. The problem is, everything I want to do/is kinda on the needles requires focus, patience, and above all, no TV distractions.  Not good.

I also have been sitting on a small stash of lovely luxury yarn that I’ve been wanting to  play with, but didn’t quite know what to do.  One yarn in particular: Alpaca Swizzle.

I first saw this yarn about two years ago in a fabulous yarn shop in Eureka.  Now, this yarn shop and this yarn in particular symbolise turning points in my knitting life.  Before visiting this place, I was a shy, sort-of knitter.  I hadn’t learned to knit in the round yet because I was scared of all those needles (note- I still am, but that’ why magic loop and knitting on two circs was invented, right? ) , I only bought cheap ass acrylic from Wal-Mart, and I never saw myself knitting more than a simple bag or scarf.  Then I went to this yarn store. It was amazing.  Names like Noro, Cascade, Plymouth leaped out at me, and I was introduced to something called Alpaca.  My friend and I stayed there for about 4 hours! I bought several balls and was determined to learn how to make mittens. Afterall, the whole reason I started to knit in the first place was because I wanted to make myself some mitts.  And the Alpaca Swizzle seems like the gold trophy. I promised myself that once I got good enough, I would mitten that baby up.

Well, as I said, that was two years ago.  Since then, I’ve tried to mitten the Alpaca Swizzle, but just didn’t feel any patterns calling out.   Finally, last week, in a desperate need for something to knit, I took it out to stroke and ended up making this: A cowl.

Is this exactly what this yarn was made for? No. But it’ll do.  It’s soft, lovely, and the large cables give it a bit more interest.  I doubled the number of repeats so that I could loop the cowl twice around my head, thus making it into an ultimate defender of warmth against the baltic winds of ice and English snow.  I still think that this yarn is made for mitts, but I’m happy with what I got in the end.  Up next: My first attempt at stranded mitts using some scrap Kid Classic I found. Fingers crossed!

 

